Governor Signs Bill for the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum and the New Los Angeles Rams and Chargers Stadium at Hollywood Park

October 11, 2017

SACRAMENTO – Today, Governor Jerry Brown signed Senate Bill 582 into law, which will expand the locations where an alcohol manufacturer may purchase advertising space and time from, or on behalf of, an on-sale retail licensee by including the Los Angeles Stadium in the City of Inglewood and the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum.

“SB 582 helps to assure the success and development of the new National Football League stadium, which will be home to the Los Angeles Rams and Los Angeles Chargers, by providing the same exemption given to other stadiums across California,” said Senator Steven Bradford (D-Gardena).  “This bill will help facilitate sponsorship and generate revenue for some of the region’s biggest events at the state of the art venue in the heart of LA.”

In January 2015, the City of Inglewood approved zoning for the new Los Angeles Stadium at Hollywood Park.  As a result of current law, when new stadiums or arenas are constructed in California, legislation is required to allow these entities to purchase advertising space or time. SB 582 is the legislation to address this requirement.  Many previous projects across California have received this same exemption, also known as a “tied-house exemption,” such as Levi’s Stadium in Santa Clara, Oakland Coliseum in Oakland, StubHub Center in Carson, Raley’s Field in West Sacramento, among many others. 

”The brand new venue in Inglewood will be an entertainment hub for the city and the surrounding areas, something many of our residents have patiently waited years for,” said Senator Bradford.  “I am excited to be involved with this historical process, and to partner with business and community leaders to make sure all our needs are met and bureaucracy does not get in the way.”



Senator Bradford represents the Los Angeles County communities of Carson, Compton, Gardena, Harbor City, Hawthorne, Inglewood, Lawndale, Lennox, San Pedro, Watts, Willowbrook, and Wilmington.